The WRIT1999 course is offered as part of the Enhanced Studies Program (ESP), and is funded through the Australian Government Higher Education Participation and Partnerships Program (HEPPP). The goal of the course is to assist students from specific backgrounds in Year 11 to improve their Year 12 performance and gain access to university. For this reason, WRIT1999 is restricted to students attending eligible schools (or Young Achievers Program School), or who identify as an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person. The course is expected to be offered over a five-day intensive block from Monday 28 June to Friday 2 July 2021 at UQ’s St Lucia campus

The course is offered free of charge (ie. no tuition fees).

WRIT1999 is open to applicants who attend an eligible school (or Young Achievers Program School) or identify as an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person, and:

  • Are in Year 11 in 2021; and
  • Have a strong interest in improving their critical thinking and writing skills; and
  • Are able to commit to all five days of the intensive course; and
  • Can demonstrate high academic achievement (generally a minimum projected 'B' average in the best four subjects) and have a projected minimum grade of 'C' in English in Semester 1 of Year 11.

Benefits for students:

  • Enhanced prospects for success in their Year 12 studies.
  • Improved skills in gathering and assessing evidence, constructing arguments or interpretations and presenting findings in an effective way.
  • Students who successfully complete WRIT1999 will receive one bonus rank to improve their competitiveness for entry to their preferred university program.

How to apply

Step 1:  Read the rules and guidelines

Download and read the UQ ESP Rules and Guidelines - WRIT1999 (PDF, 593.4 KB).

Step 2:  Permission and declaration form

Download the Permission and declaration form (PDF, 194.9 KB), and read and complete the relevant fields.  Obtain parental/guardian consent.  Incomplete fields will result in processing delays and may result in your application not being considered.

Step 3:  Complete the online application

  1. Access the online application via the link at the bottom of this page (it will take approximately 15-20 minutes to complete the online application). 
  2. You will be prompted to register an account.  Once you have registered, you will receive a confirmation email from Survey Monkey (our application system provider).  Click on the link in this email. 
  3. Complete the 'Program Eligibility' task (Start > select 'Effective Thinking and Writing' > Save & Exit).
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page, and under 'Your Programs', click 'View Programs'.
  5. For ‘Effective Thinking and Writing (WRIT1999)’, click 'Apply Now'.
  6. Complete the 'ESP WRIT1999 application form' by clicking the corresponding 'Start' button.
  7. Upload your Term 1, Year 11 report card by clicking the corresponding 'Start' button.
  8. Upload your completed Permission and declaration form (PDF, 194.9 KB) by clicking the corresponding 'Start' button.
  9. Upload your passport and visa documents (international students only). 
  10. Once you have completed the above, you will be able to 'Mark as complete' your application.
  11. Click 'Continue' to confirm you are submitting your application.
  12. Remember to 'Sign Out' of your account (top right hand corner) once you have submitted your application. 
  13. Check your email, including the junk mail folder, for a decision on your application after applications close.

Applicants can save incomplete applications for completion at a later time (prior to the closing date). Applications which are not submitted prior to the closing date will not be considered.

Applications open Monday 20 April 2021 and close at 11.59pm, Friday 28 May, 2021.

Apply Now

Eligible schools:

  • Albany Creek State High School
  • Alexandra Hills State High School
  • Aspley State High School
  • Beaudesert State High School
  • Beenleigh State High School
  • Beerwah State High School
  • Bellbird Park State Secondary College
  • Boonah State High School
  • Bracken Ridge State High School
  • Bray Park State High School
  • Bremer State High School
  • Brisbane Bayside State College
  • Browns Plains State High School
  • Bundamba State Secondary College
  • Caboolture State High School
  • Calamvale Community College
  • Centenary State High School
  • Clintarf Beach State High School
  • Corinda State High School
  • Craigslea State High School
  • Dakabin State High School
  • Deception Bay State High School
  • Everton Park State High School
  • Faith Lutheran College - Plainland
  • Flagstone State Community College
  • Forest Lake State High School
  • Glenala State High School
  • Holland Park State High School
  • Hymba Yumba Community Hub
  • Ipswich State High School
  • Kingston State College
  • Laidley State High School
  • Lockyer District State High School
  • Loganlea State High School
  • Lowood State High School
  • Mabel Park State High School
  • Marsden State High School
  • Mitchelton State High School
  • Morayfield State High School
  • Mt Gravatt State High School
  • Park Ridge State High School
  • Pine Rivers State High School
  • Redbank Plains State High School
  • Redcliffe State High School
  • Rochedale State High School
  • Rosewood State High School
  • Runcorn State High School
  • Sandgate District State High School
  • Shailer Park State High School
  • Springfield Central State High School
  • Springwood State High School
  • St Peter Claver College
  • Stretton State College
  • Sunnybank State High School
  • Toogoolawah State High School
  • Tullawong State High School
  • Upper Comera State College
  • Victoria Point State High School
  • Wavell State High School
  • Wellington Point State High School
  • Windaroo Valley State High School
  • Woodcrest State College
  • Woodridge State High School
  • Wynnum State High School
  • Yeronga State High School